Panendeism.org

For the Promotion of Reason Based Spirituality...

HomeGalleryFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 

Hmmmmmmmmm

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
CallMeStorm

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2011-11-28

PostSubject: Hmmmmmmmmm   Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:39 pm

So, I hang out a lot on Religious Education Forums, and several people have told me I should look into panendeism as a more accurate label for my beliefs. Unfortunately, none of them know much about it, so I came here to learn more.

First off, what are the theological nuances distinguishing panendeism from panentheism?

Don't worry about confusing me - I know deism, theism, and panentheism already. I'm fairly advanced in theology, though being entirely self-taught means you miss a few things. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aaron
Admin

Number of posts : 1918
Registration date : 2007-01-24

PostSubject: Re: Hmmmmmmmmm   Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:35 am

Hi welcome to the forum.

To answer your question, deism is a belief in a "god", "higher power", "ground of being", "Dao", "higher order", etc that for most believers doesn't abrogate the laws of nature. Deist belief is based on reason and observation of nature. Theism is a belief in a God that can and often does abrogate the laws of nature. Theist belief is usually based on tradition, scripture, and dogma.

Panentheism is a subcategory of theism therefore panentheists believe is a theist god. Panendeism is a subcategory of deism therefore panendeists believe in a deist god (ie one that doesn't abrogate the laws of nature).

CallMeStorm

PostSubject: Re: Hmmmmmmmmm   Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:37 am

Panentheism isn't necessarily a subcategory of theism, no more than pantheism.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Aaron
Admin

PostSubject: Re: Hmmmmmmmmm   Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:15 am